Arts & Humanities Commission


The Arts and Humanities Commission has eleven members appointed by the City Manager, confirmed by Council. Terms are 3 years.

Current Commissioners:

  • Jack Hussey (President)
  • Faith Bowyer
  • Leigh Anne Bolyard
  • Judy Byers
  • Christian Cox
  • Peggy Edwards
  • Sue Montgomery
  • John Provins
  • Elizabeth Urse
  • Brian F. Wright

Annual Awards Ceremony

The City of Fairmont's Arts and Humanities Commission is pleased to announce its 2019 Awards Ceremony celebrating local artists, musicians, and educators.

The ceremony will take place at Central Christian Church (1640 Big Tree Drive, Fairmont, WV 26554) on Sunday April 7th at 2:00 p.m., with a reception to follow afterward.

2019 Awardees

  • Franchesca Aloi (music)
  • Jennifer Boggess (artist and teacher)
  • Jeff Greenham (pottery and teacher)
  • Marian J. Hollinger (patron of the arts)
  • Dennis McClung (blues artist)
  • Ivey McMullen (visual art)
  • John Schneider (music education)
  • Aaron Sine (music) [Marian Satterfield award]
  • Maleri Tustin (music) 
  • Elizabeth Wotring-Nelson (musical theatre)

For more information, visit the Fairmont Arts and Humanities Facebook page.