City Council


  • 7 p.m.
  • Meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month
  • Council Chambers
    Public Safety Building
    500 Quincy Street
    Fairmont, WV 26554

Council's Rules of Order (PDF)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

Download the Human Rights Commission Ordinance (PDF).


City Council COVID Guidelines - Council chambers will contain a maximum of 25 people.

City Council's Goals & Priorities- Approved November 26, 2019 [LINK]


The City of Fairmont has a council-manager form of government. The City Council shall be the governing authority of the city and shall appoint the City Manager who shall execute the laws and administer the government of the city.


The city is divided into 9 voting districts in which districts shall be established by City Council by ordinance and changed from time to time to reflect population changes. Therefore, the City of Fairmont has 9 council members.


Only qualified voters of the city shall be eligible to hold the office of council member. Each council member shall, at the time of his or her announcement for office and during the term of office, reside within the district from which they were elected or appointed. 


The terms of a council member shall be 4 years and in no event shall any council member serve more than 2 consecutive full 4-year terms.


The City Council shall elect, at the 1st meeting of a new City Council, one of its members to serve as Mayor. The Mayor shall preside at all meetings of the City Council, shall be recognized as head of the city government for all ceremonial purposes but shall have no administrative duties.

Work Session Presentations

November 28, 2017 Marion County Humane Society Presentation (PDF)


For questions regarding City Council members and/or meetings, please contact City Clerk Janet Keller at 304-366-6212, ext. 329.